UT hosting diving competitions

tori lamp

Beginning on Thursday, January 3, the University of Tennessee will host a three-day Tennessee Diving Invitational at the Allan Jones Intercollegiate Aquatic Center.

Fifteen schools will be taking part in the competition, including seven from the SEC. These schools are Tennessee, Alabama, Auburn, Kentucky, Georgia, LSU and Missouri.

Tennessee’s SEC Diver of the Year, Tori Lamp, will be headlining the UT challengers. Lamp, who is from Knoxville, won the 2012 SEC platform title and took silver at the NCAAs. The Saturday competition is the second time this year that Tennessee will compete on the 10-meter platform. Lamp says she looks forward to putting together a more consistent performance from her November effort.

For the men, senior Brent Sterling has posted career bests in all three diving events this year, including a score of 407.45 on the 3 meter, the ninth-best score in program history.

Two Olympic 2012 medalists from Duke, Abby Johnston and Nick McCrory, are scheduled to compete. Johnston took silver in 3-meter synchronized diving, and McCrory earned bronze in the 10-meter syncro event.

The diving-only competition begins at 11:30 a.m. on Thursday, with the men’s 1-meter springboard and women’s 3-meter springboard preliminaries. Finals featuring 12 divers will follow directly after. Admission is free to all sessions.

Friday’s competition starts at 11:30 a.m. with women’s 1-meter and men’s 3-meter springboards. Saturday features platform diving beginning at 10:30 a.m.

The other teams competing are: Clemson, Duke, James Madison, North Carolina, Penn State, S. Dakota State, Southern Methodist, and Virginia.

By Nancy Morris

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.

_gaq.push(['_trackPageview']); (function() { var ga = document.createElement('script'); ga.type = 'text/javascript'; ga.async = true; ga.src = ('https:' == document.location.protocol ? 'https://ssl' : 'http://www') + '.google-analytics.com/ga.js'; var s = document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(ga, s); })();